Founded in 1888, and located in Trois-Rivières, Our Lady of the Cape Shrine is Canada's National Shrine to Our Blessed Mother. Located on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, it welcomes 250,000 pilgrims annually. Visitors can admire the historical chapel built in 1714, one of the two oldest churches in Canada. A large modern basilica was inaugurated in 1964. Its stained glass windows are magnificent and the Casavant organ has 5425 pipes. The spacious grounds bordering the river inspire peace and tranquility and form part of the religious and spiritual heritage of the Province of Québec. Visitors will find on a large restaurant and a 113-room hotel with private bathroom in each room. Many meeting rooms are also available to welcome groups and congresses. There are also guided tours and a large gift store.
The site was first used for a parish church named Sainte-Marie-Madeleine which was erected in 1678. The actual Shrine was opened to worship in 1720. This church was dedicated to the Virgin Mary on June 22, 1888. This date marks the official beginning of Notre-Dame-du-Cap Shrine. On the evening of the same day, three men absorbed in prayer saw the statue open its eyes. «The look of the Virgin was that of a live person», declared Blessed Father Frédéric, a Franciscan, one of the three witnesses. Following these events, a great number of pilgrims came to pray at Cap-de-la-Madeleine. The Virgin of the Cape opened her arms to them. The new church, raised to the rank of minor basilica, was blessed on August 14 1964.